English [en]   Deutsch [de]   français [fr]   日本語 [ja]   русский [ru]  

Dieses Werk ist eine Übersetzung aus dem Englischen.

Was bedeutet ‚das Programm‘ in GNU GPLv3?

Resümee

In GNU General Public License, Version 3, (GPLv3) bedeutet der Terminus ‚das Programm‘ ein bestimmtes Werk, das unter GPLv3 lizenziert wird und von einem bestimmten Lizenznehmer wie einem vorgelagerten Lizenzgeber oder Distributor empfangen wurde. ‚Das Programm‘ ist das jeweilige Werk einer Software, die man in einem gegebenen Fall der GPLv3-Lizenzierung erhielt, als man sie erhielt.

‚Das Programm‘ ist nicht gleichbedeutend mit alle Werke sind stets unter GPLv3 lizenziert. Diese Interpretation macht keinen Sinn, weil ‚das Programm‘ singulär ist: die vielen verschiedenen Programme stellen nicht ein Programm dar.

Dies gilt insbesondere für die Klausel in Abschnitt 10 Absatz 3 der GPLv3, wonach

You may not initiate litigation (including a cross-claim or counterclaim in a lawsuit) alleging that any patent claim is infringed by making, using, selling, offering for sale, or importing the Program or any portion of it.

[auf Deutsch]
[…] Sie dürfen keinen Rechtsstreit initiieren (auch keine Gegenforderung oder einen Gegenanspruch in einem Gerichtsverfahren geltend machen), indem vorgeworfen wird, dass irgendein Patentanspruch durch Herstellung, Nutzung, Verkauf, Angebot zum Verkauf oder Import des Programms oder irgendeines Teils davon verletzt wird.

Dies ist eine Bedingung, die die Fähigkeit eines GPLv3-Lizenznehmers eingrenzt eine Klage einzubringen, die vom Lizenznehmer der Patentverletzung erhaltene bestimmte GPLv3 lizenzierte Software anzuklagen. Sie gilt nicht für den Fall, in der die eine Partei, die ein Lizenznehmer des GPLv3 lizenzierten Programms A, aber nicht des nicht damit zusammenhängenden GPLv3 lizenzierten Programms B ist, einen Rechtsstreit initiiert, das Programm B der Patentverletzung beschuldigt. Wenn die Partei ein Lizenznehmer von sowohl A als auch B ist, würde diese Partei möglicherweise Rechte auf B verlieren, nicht aber auf A.

Da Softwarepatente eine ungerechte Bedrohung für alle Softwareentwickler, alle Softwaredistributoren und alle Softwarenutzer darstellen, würden wir sie abschaffen, wenn wir könnten. In der Tat rufen wir dazu auf. Aber wir denken es wäre unsinnig so weit gehen zu versprechen, die Lizenzbedingungen für jedes einzelne GPL abgedeckte Programm an alle GPL abgedeckten Programm niemals anzugreifen erforderlich machen.

Eine weitere Analyse

Die GPLv3 definiert ‚das Programm‘ wie folgt:

The Program refers to any copyrightable work licensed under this License.

[auf Deutsch]
‚Das Programm‘ bezieht sich auf jedes unter dieser Lizenz lizenzierte urheberrechtsfähige Werk.

Einige haben behauptet, dass diese Definition mit der Bedeutung gelesen werden kann, um alle GPLv3 lizenzierten Werke anstatt eines bestimmten durch einen Lizenznehmer GPLv3 lizenzierten Werkes in einem gegebenen Kontext der Lizenzierung bedeuten würde. Diese Leser haben bestimmte Bedenken geäußert die Folgen eine solche Auslegung für die Patentneuregelungen der GPLv3, insbesondere die Bedingung der Patentbeendigung gefunden in § 10 (3) und der ausdrücklichen Patentlizenz-Zuschuss von upstream beigesteuert gemäß Absatz von Abschnitt 11. Diese aufbürde Lesen von ‚Das Programm‘ ist falsch und verstößt gegen unsere Absicht als Verfasser der GPLv3.

Das Wort "beliebig" ist anfällig für mehrere, subtil unterschiedlichen Nuancen in Englisch. In manchen Kontexten "beliebig" bedeutet "jeder" oder "all"; in anderen, einschließlich der Festlegung von ‚das Programm’ in GPLv3 schlägt es, "eine bestimmte Instanz, ausgewählt aus vielen Möglichkeiten". Diese Variabilität hat durch den Kontext gelöst werden. Diesem Zusammenhang wird aufgelöst, aber es erfordert einige Gedanken.

Wir könnten die Definition von ‚das Programm’ anders formuliert haben wie mit "ein bestimmtes" anstelle von "any", sondern, dass nicht die Notwendigkeit Gedanken beseitigt haben würde. Die Phrase "ein bestimmtes Werk unter dieser Lizenz lizenziert", isoliert zu betrachten, würde nicht unbedingt bedeuten, * die * eine bestimmte Arbeit, die von einer bestimmten "you" in eine bestimmte Handlung Lizenzierung oder Vertrieb empfangen. Unsere Überprüfung der anderen freien Softwarelizenzen zeigt, dass sie ähnliche Probleme der Interpretation, mit Worten von allgemein verwendet zur Erleichterung Lizenz Wiederverwendung erhöhen.

Keine Wahl ist so klar, dass alle anderen Kandidaten Bedeutungen zurückzuweisen ist, "jeder" hat gewisse Vorteile. Es ist eine eher informell und weniger legalistischen Verwendung als die möglichen Alternativen einer entsprechenden Register für die Entwickler lesen und Anwenden der Lizenz. Darüber hinaus bewirkt die Verwendung von "jeder", durch seine Andeutung Auswahl aus vielen qualifizierten Möglichkeiten, betonen die Wiederverwendbarkeit der GPLv3 für mehrere Werke von Software und in mehrere Lizenzen Situationen. Der GNU GPL soll durch viele Entwickler ihre Programme verwendet werden, und das muss auch klar sein.

Die gleiche Verwendung von any, die Anlass für zu interpretierende Bedenken unter GPLv3 gegeben haben, ist in der entsprechenden Definition in GPLv2 vorhanden. § 0 der GPLv2 besagt:

This License applies to any program or other work which contains a notice placed by the copyright holder saying it may be distributed under the terms of this General Public License. The "Program", below, refers to any such program or work, and a "work based on the Program" means either the Program or any derivative work under copyright law …

[auf Deutsch:]
Diese Lizenz gilt für jedes Programm und jedes andere Werk, das einen entsprechenden Vermerk des Urheberrechtsinhabers enthält, welcher besagt, dass es unter den Bedingungen dieser GNU General Public License distribuiert werden kann. ‚Das Programm‘ im Text bezieht sich auf jedes derartige Programm oder Werk und ein Werk basierend auf dem Programm bedeutet entweder das Programm oder jedes abgeleitete Werk dem Urheberrecht nach …

Es war jedoch schon immer das Verständnis der Free Software Foundation (FSF) und anderer in der GPL-verwendenden Gemeinschaft gewesen, dass ‚das Programm’ in GPLv2 das bestimmte GPL abgedeckte Werk bedeutet, dass man empfangen hat, bevor man eventuelle Modifizierungen daran vornimmt. Die Definition ‚das Programm’ in GPLv3 soll diese Bedeutung bewahren.

In GPLv3 können wir keine Klausel finden, bei der die Anwendung der vorgeschlagenen weiten Interpretation von ‚das Programm‘ (und des übergeordneten Begriffs ‚abgedecktes Werk‘) Sinn machen oder mit der Formulierung der Klausel und ihrer Entstehungsgeschichte irgendeine praktische Bedeutung haben würde. Die Patentbestimmungen der GPLv3 sind ein typisches Beispiel dafür.

In § 11 (3) heißt es:

Each contributor grants you a non-exclusive, worldwide, royalty-free patent license under the contributor's essential patent claims, to make, use, sell, offer for sale, import and otherwise run, modify and propagate the contents of its contributor version.

[auf Deutsch:]
Jeder Mitwirkende gewährt eine nicht-exklusive, weltweite, lizenzgebührenfreie Lizenz unter den essenziellen Patentansprüchen des Mitwirkenden, die Inhalte der Version seiner Mitwirkenden zu erzeugen, verwenden, verkaufen, zum Verkauf anbieten, importieren und anderweitig ausführen, modifizieren und propagieren.

Ein Mitwirkender wird definiert als ‚ein Urheberrechtsinhaber, der die Nutzung unter dieser Lizenz des Programms oder eines Werkes autorisiert, auf denen das Programm beruht‘.

Die weit gefasste Auslegung von ‚das Programm‘, wie vorgeschlagen, ruft eine unangemessen weit gefasste Patentlizenzgewährung hervor. Die Begründung ist, dass für einen gegebenen GPLv3-Lizenznehmer sämtliche Mitwirkenden die Erteilung von Patentlizenzen alle GPLv3 Lizenzgeber aller GPLv3 abgedeckten Werke auf der Welt gewähren und nicht lediglich Lizenzgeber des bestimmten Werkes von diesem Lizenznehmer in einer besonderen Handlung der Lizenzvergabe.

Große Aufmerksamkeit auf den Wortlaut des Zuschusses Patentlizenz zeigt jedoch, dass diese Befürchtungen unbegründet sind. Um die Berechtigungen des Zuschusses Patentlizenz ausüben zu können, muss eine GPLv3-Lizenz "die Inhalte der [der beigetragenen] beigetragenen Version" in seinem Besitz sein. Wenn er es tut, ist er unbedingt einen Empfänger dieses Materials, das ihm unter GPLv3 lizenziert.

Mitwirkende sind daher immer die tatsächlichen Copyright-Lizenzgeber des Materials, welches Gegenstand der Patentlizenz-Konzession ist. Der Nutzer, der von der Patentlizenz-Konzession profitiert, hat letztlich das von der Konzession abgedeckt Material von jenen Mitwirkenden erhalten. Andernfalls wäre die Patentlizenz-Konzession bedeutungslos, da die Ausübung von deren Berechtigungen an die „Mitwirker-Version“ der Mitwirkenden gebunden ist. Die Mitwirkenden und der § 11-Patent-Lizenzinhaber stehen in einer direkten oder indirekten Vertriebsbeziehung. Deshalb macht § 11 (3) nicht erforderlich, jedermann eine Patentlizenz erteilen zu müssen,, der nicht auch Ihr Copyright-Lizenzinhaber ist (Redistributoren, die nicht mitgewirkt haben, unterliegen weiterhin der anwendbaren impliziten Patentlizenz und der besonderen „automatischen Verlängerung" von § 11 (6).

Ebenso gibt es keine Grundlage für die weitgehende Lesart von ‚das Programm‘, bedenkt man die patentbezogenen Klausel in § 10 (3) betrachtet. Diese Klausel sieht vor:

You may not initiate litigation (including a cross-claim or counterclaim in a lawsuit) alleging that any patent claim is infringed by making, using, selling, offering for sale, or importing the Program or any portion of it.

[auf Deutsch]
[…] Sie dürfen keinen Rechtsstreit initiieren (auch keine Gegenforderung oder einen Gegenanspruch in einem Gerichtsverfahren geltend machen), indem vorgeworfen wird, dass irgendein Patentanspruch durch Herstellung, Nutzung, Verkauf, Angebot zum Verkauf oder Import des Programms oder irgendeines Teils davon verletzt wird.

In Verbindung mit der Patentlizenzgewährung von § 11 Absatz 3 und der Beendigungsklausel des § 8, führt die Klausel nach § 10 zu einer im Umfang ähnlich der in der Apache License, Version 2.0, enthaltenen Patentbeendigungsbedingung.

Die FSF sympathisiert mit der Absicht von breit angelegten Patentvergeltungsklauseln in einigen Freie-Software-Lizenzen, da die Abschaffung von Softwarepatenten außerordentlich wünschenswert ist. Dennoch sind wir der Meinung, dass umfassende Patentvergeltungsvorkehrungen bei Softwarelizenzen kaum der Gemeinschaft nützen werden, insbesondere jene Klauseln, die durch Patentstreitigkeiten in Bezug auf andere Programme ausgelöst werden können, die mit der Software in keinem Zusammenhang stehen, deren Lizenzerlaubnis beendet wird. Wir waren, was die Aufnahme von Patentvergeltungsmaßnahmen in GPLv3 betrifft, sehr umsichtig, und die Klausel in § 10 Absatz 3 soll enger als Patentvergeltungsklauseln in Bezug auf die Beendigung von Patentlizenzen bei verschiedenen anderen wohlbekannten Lizenzen sein, insbesondere der Mozilla Public License, Version 1.1.

Wenn die befürwortete Interpretation von ‚Das Programm‘ auf die Klausel in § 10 Absatz 3 zugrundegelegt wird, wäre das Ergebnis eine radikale Abkehr von unseren konsequenten früheren Aussagen und Grundsätze bezüglich Patentvergeltung, welches wir eindeutig nicht beabsichtigen.

Anderer Text im GPLv3 zeigt selbigen Grundsatz. Die Patentstreitverfahren-Klausel in § 10 wurde Entwurf 3 der GPLv3 als Ersatz für einen Teil der vorherigen Klausel § 7(b)(5) (in Entwurf 2) ergänzt. Klausel § 7(b)(5) erlaubte die Platzierung von zwei Kategorien von Patentbeendigungsbestimmungen bei GPLv3-lizenzierten Werken:

terms that wholly or partially terminate, or allow termination of, permission for use of the material they cover, for a user who files a software patent lawsuit (that is, a lawsuit alleging that some software infringes a patent) not filed in retaliation or defense against the earlier filing of another software patent lawsuit, or in which the allegedly infringing software includes some of the covered material, possibly in combination with other software …

[auf Deutsch:]

§ 7 gibt nicht die GPL-eigen Richtlinie wieder. vielmehr nennt sie wie weit andere vereinbare Lizenzen gehen können. Daher hätte dieser Text in § 7 keine umfassenden Patentvergeltungsmaßnahmen begründet. Er würde nur die Kombination von GPL-lizenzierten Quellcode mit anderen Lizenzen erlauben, die solche umfassenden Patentvergeltungsmaßnahmen machen.

Dennoch wurden, wie in der Begründung für Entwurf 3 erläutert, solch ausgedehnte Vergeltungsmaßnahmen kritisiert, weil sie auf Softwarepatentklagen anwendbar sein könnten, in denen die bezichtigte Software, die Gegenstand der Lizenz war, ohne Bezug zu der Software stand. Angesichts der Tatsache, dass es keine weit verbreiteten Lizenzen gab mit denen dies zu einer Vereinbarkeit führen würde, ließen wir in Entwurf 3 eine umfassende Patentvergeltung aus dem Bereich Vereinbarkeit mit der GPL fallen.

Wir taten dies indem § 7(b)(5) mit Text aus § 10 ersetzt wurde, in welchem wir nur behielten was der zweiten Kategorie entsprach. Die erste Kategorie wurde daher rückgängig gemacht, um eine mit der GPL unvereinbare „weitere Einschränkung“ im 3. Entwurf zu sein, und ebenso in GPLv3 wie tatsächlich veröffentlicht.

Zurück zu GNU-Lizenzen: Häufig gestellte Fragen

Anmerkungen des Übersetzungsteams:

Dieses Dokument wurde (noch) nicht von www-de-Mitgliedern und/oder interessierten Mitwirkenden begutachtet. Bitte unterstützen Sie uns dieses hinsichtlich Rechtschreibung, Grammatik, Typografie, Stil und sachlicher Richtigkeit zu überprüfen und melden Korrekturvorschläge an <www-de-translators@gnu.org>. Vielen Dank!

ZUM SEITENANFANG


FSF„Unsere Mission ist die Freiheit zu bewahren, zu schützen und zu fördern, um Rechnersoftware nutzen, untersuchen, kopieren, modifizieren und weiterverbreiten zu können und die Rechte von Freie-Software-Nutzern zu verteidigen.“

The Free Software Foundation is the principal organizational sponsor of the GNU Operating System. Support GNU and the FSF by buying manuals and gear, joining the FSF as an associate member, or making a donation, either directly to the FSF or via Flattr.

English [en]   français [fr]   日本語 [ja]   русский [ru]  

What does "the Program" mean in GPLv3?

Summary

In version 3 of the GNU General Public License (GPLv3), the term "the Program" means one particular work that is licensed under GPLv3 and is received by a particular licensee from an upstream licensor or distributor. The Program is the particular work of software that you received in a given instance of GPLv3 licensing, as you received it.

"The Program" cannot mean "all the works ever licensed under GPLv3"; that interpretation makes no sense, because "the Program" is singular: those many different programs do not constitute one program.

In particular, this applies to the clause in section 10, paragraph 3 of GPLv3 which states

[Y]ou may not initiate litigation (including a cross-claim or counterclaim in a lawsuit) alleging that any patent claim is infringed by making, using, selling, offering for sale, or importing the Program or any portion of it.

This is a condition that limits the ability of a GPLv3 licensee to bring a lawsuit accusing the particular GPLv3-covered software received by the licensee of patent infringement. It does not speak to the situation in which a party who is a licensee of GPLv3-covered program A, but not of unrelated GPLv3-covered program B, initiates litigation accusing program B of patent infringement. If the party is a licensee of both A and B, that party would potentially lose rights to B, but not to A.

Since software patents pose an unjust threat to all software developers, all software distributors, and all software users, we would abolish them if we could. Indeed, we campaign to do so. But we think it would have been self-defeating to make the license conditions for any one GPL-covered program go so far as to require a promise to never attack any GPL-covered program.

Further analysis

GPLv3 defines "the Program" as follows:

"The Program" refers to any copyrightable work licensed under this License.

Some have contended that this definition can be read to mean all GPLv3-licensed works, rather than the one particular GPLv3-licensed work received by a licensee in a given licensing context. These readers have expressed particular concern about the consequences of such an interpretation for the new patent provisions of GPLv3, especially the patent termination condition found in the third paragraph 10 and the express patent license grant made by upstream contributors under the third paragraph of section 11. This overbroad reading of "the Program" is incorrect, and contrary to our intent as the drafters of GPLv3.

The word "any" is susceptible to multiple, subtly different shades of meaning in English. In some contexts, "any" means "every" or "all"; in others, including the definition of "the Program" in GPLv3, it suggests "one particular instance of, selected from many possibilities". This variability has to be resolved by the context. This context resolves it, but it requires some thought.

We could have worded the definition of "the Program" differently, such as by using "a particular" instead of "any", but that would not have eliminated the need for thought. The phrase "a particular work licensed under this License", regarded in isolation, would not necessarily signify *the* particular work received by a particular "you" in a particular act of licensing or distribution. Our review of other free software licenses shows that they raise similar issues of interpretation, with words of general reference used in order to facilitate license reuse.

Given that no choice is so clear that all other candidate meanings must be rejected, "any" has certain advantages. It is a somewhat more informal and less legalistic usage than the possible alternatives, an appropriate register for the developers reading and applying the license. Moreover, the usage of "any", through its suggestion of selection out of many qualifying possibilities, has the effect of emphasizing the reusability of GPLv3 for multiple works of software and in multiple licensing situations. The GNU GPL is intended to be used by many developers on their programs and that too needs to be clear.

The same use of "any" that has given rise to interpretive concerns under GPLv3 exists in GPLv2, in its corresponding definition. Section 0 of GPLv2 states:

This License applies to any program or other work which contains a notice placed by the copyright holder saying it may be distributed under the terms of this General Public License. The "Program", below, refers to any such program or work, and a "work based on the Program" means either the Program or any derivative work under copyright law …

However, it has always been the understanding of the FSF and others in the GPL-using community that "the Program" in GPLv2 means the particular GPL-covered work that you receive, before you make any possible modifications to it. The definition of "the Program" in GPLv3 is intended to preserve this meaning.

We can find no clause in GPLv3 in which applying the suggested broad interpretation of "the Program" (and the superset term "covered work") would make sense or have any practical significance, consistent with the wording of the clause and its drafting history. The patent provisions of GPLv3 are a case in point.

The third paragraph of section 11 states:

Each contributor grants you a non-exclusive, worldwide, royalty-free patent license under the contributor's essential patent claims, to make, use, sell, offer for sale, import and otherwise run, modify and propagate the contents of its contributor version.

A "contributor" is defined as "a copyright holder who authorizes use under this License of the Program or a work on which the Program is based."

The broad reading of "the Program", it has been suggested, gives rise to an unreasonably broad patent license grant. The reasoning is that, for a given GPLv3 licensee, the set of contributors granting patent licenses becomes all GPLv3 licensors of all GPLv3-covered works in the world, and not merely licensors of the specific work received by that licensee in a particular act of licensing.

Close attention to the wording of the patent license grant, however, shows that these concerns are unfounded. In order to exercise the permissions of the patent license grant, a GPLv3 licensee must have "the contents of [the contributor's] contributor version" in his possession. If he does, then he is necessarily a recipient of that material, licensed to him under GPLv3.

Therefore, contributors are always the actual copyright licensors of the material that is the subject of the patent license grant. The user benefiting from the patent license grant has ultimately received the material covered by the grant from those contributors. If it were otherwise, the patent license grant would be meaningless, because the exercise of its permissions is tied to the contributor's "contributor version". The contributors and the section 11 patent licensee stand in a direct or indirect distribution relationship. Therefore, section 11, paragraph 3 does not require you to grant a patent license to anyone who is not also your copyright licensee. (Non-contributor redistributors remain subject to applicable implied patent license doctrine and to the special "automatic extension" provision of section 11, paragraph 6.)

There is similarly no basis for the broad reading of "the Program" when one considers the patent-related clause in the third paragraph of section 10. This clause provides:

[Y]ou may not initiate litigation (including a cross-claim or counterclaim in a lawsuit) alleging that any patent claim is infringed by making, using, selling, offering for sale, or importing the Program or any portion of it.

Coupled with the patent license grant of section 11, paragraph 3, and the termination clause of section 8, this section 10 clause gives rise to a patent termination condition similar in scope to that contained in the Apache License version 2.0.

The FSF sympathizes with the intent of broad patent retaliation clauses in some free software licenses, since the abolition of software patents is greatly to be desired. However, we think that broad patent retaliation provisions in software licenses are unlikely to benefit the community, especially those clauses which can be triggered by patent litigation concerning other programs unrelated to the software whose license permissions are being terminated. We were very cautious in taking steps to incorporate patent retaliation into GPLv3, and the section 10, paragraph 3 clause is intended to be narrower than patent retaliation clauses in several other well-known licenses, notably the Mozilla Public License version 1.1, with respect to termination of patent licenses.

If the suggested interpretation of "the Program" applied to the section 10, paragraph 3 clause, the result would be a radical departure from our consistent past statements and policies concerning patent retaliation, which we clearly did not intend.

Other text in GPL version 3 shows the same policy. The patent litigation clause in section 10 was added to Draft 3 of GPLv3 as a replacement for part of the previous clause 7(b)(5) (in Draft 2). Clause 7(b)(5) permitted the placement of two categories of patent termination provisions on GPLv3-licensed works:

terms that wholly or partially terminate, or allow termination of, permission for use of the material they cover, for a user who files a software patent lawsuit (that is, a lawsuit alleging that some software infringes a patent) not filed in retaliation or defense against the earlier filing of another software patent lawsuit, or in which the allegedly infringing software includes some of the covered material, possibly in combination with other software …

Section 7 does not state the GPL's own policy; instead it says how far other compatible licenses can go. Thus, that text in section 7 would not have established broad patent retaliation; it only would have permitted combining GPL-covered code with other licenses that do such broad patent retaliation.

Nonetheless, as explained in the Rationale for Draft 3, such broad retaliation was criticized because it could apply to software patent lawsuits in which the accused software was unrelated to the software that was the subject of the license. Seeing that there were no widely used licenses with which this would provide compatibility, in draft 3 we dropped broad patent retaliation from the range of GPL compatibility.

We did so by replacing 7(b)(5) with text in section 10, in which we kept only what corresponded to the second category. The first category therefore reverted to being a GPL-incompatible "further restriction" in Draft 3, and likewise in GPL version 3 as actually published.

Return to the FAQ

 [FSF logo] “Our mission is to preserve, protect and promote the freedom to use, study, copy, modify, and redistribute computer software, and to defend the rights of Free Software users.”

The Free Software Foundation is the principal organizational sponsor of the GNU Operating System. Support GNU and the FSF by buying manuals and gear, joining the FSF as an associate member, or making a donation, either directly to the FSF or via Flattr.

back to top